2019 Governor's Scholars

The Governor’s Scholars Program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who are rising seniors. The Program originated in 1983 as a result of Kentucky leaders’ concern that the state’s “best and brightest” were leaving the Commonwealth to pursue educational and career opportunities elsewhere without fully understanding the potential of their talents at home. Students who are selected attend the Program without charge. In the spirit of partnership, the Office of the Governor, the Kentucky State Legislature, and private enterprise come together to provide the financial support for the Program.

The Program’s mission is to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders. The first class numbered 230 and was housed on one college campus. Since then, the Program has enjoyed excellent support and grown to over 1,000 students on three campuses.

Student Application and Selection Packets are sent to every public, private and parochial school district in the state. Applications may be picked up in the school guidance office in late September or downloaded from our website.  Before reaching the statewide competition, each student must first submit his or her application through his or her school and participate in the school and/or district level competitions.  Only those students selected and submitted by their district (or unaffiliated private school) may compete in the statewide selection process.  The number of nominees each district may submit to the statewide process is based on the district-wide junior class enrollment. Over 2,000 applications are received at the state level each year, with approximately 1,000 students selected to attend.


Pulaski County High Governor's Scholars

GSP students for PCHS

Kealan Hatfield, Emma Stevens, Sebastian Tingle, Kennedy Burdine and Eva Gover (not pictured: Grant Oakes)


Southwestern High Governor's Scholars

GSP students for SWHS

Front row: Sarah Hines, Abigail Stamper, Josh Thomas, Ethan Whitis, Bailey Patterson, and Jaylee Baker.

Back row: Chase Eastham, Luke Jacobs, Clark Lemon, Cameron Pierce, and Max Brainard.

Back to School News      Print News Article